GSoC 2018 Journey with SCoRe Lab — EPI 2

Sajitha Liyanage
2 min readMay 28, 2018

In the previous article I have told you how much I excited to selected as a participant in GSoC 2018.

Previous EPI

Here is the second article of my GSoC experiences with SCoRe Lab. This article is based on the project that I’m going to contribute in GSoC 2018. According to the GSoC calendar we are now in “Students Work on their Projects” stage. In Community Bonding period we need to be friendly with our organisation, with our mentors etc. As well as we need to get more information about our project during that period. So that I discussed about the project with my mentors and I gained lot of details within that period.

As discussed with mentors, my first project task is to get familiar with ReactJS. Because my whole project is based on ReactJS. ChainKeeper is the front-end of the BlockSci code base. I need to connect my project with BlockSci server to gives more user friendly experience for the BlockSci end-users. So I have started the development with ReactJS. I referred the ReactJS documentation to learn more technical stuffs in React. I have done some projects with AngularJS earlier. So React also similar to the Angular. Therefor I think now me have some confidence to code with ReactJS.

In ChainKeeper it needs the user authentication part. As discussed with mentors, I have added firebase user authentication model to ChainKeepr with user registration part and additionally social media authentications. Like Google Auth. In next article I will explain about the how I achieved connect authentications in Firebase for the ReactJS. Yes, It is very easy stuff. See you on next article.

Stay tuned :)

--

--

Sajitha Liyanage

Software Engineer @ WSO2 | Open Source Contributor | Computer Science Graduate @ UCSC